Philly Fashion Week 2009: DAY 1

DSCF1565

Day 1 into Philly Fashion Week and you know what I do,
I borderline act a fool.. lol..
It was fun though. I’ve heard mixed reviews about how fashion week went down, and honestly.. .
IT IS WHAT IT IS…
I don’t look at Philly as a heavyweight contender in the fashion world, but I would say that fashion is important here.

So instead of viewing the whole celebration under a microscope, calling fault to everything you feel fashion week SHOULD be compared to places like New York, France, and other locations to name a few…

Simply look at Philly Fashion Week as a humble admirer of the arts, design, and clothing. I don’t feel like my job is to give you an opinion on something that can be interpreted in so many ways. Instead I want to show you Philly Fashion Week through my eyes, and possibly take you through my thoughts as things become clearer to me.

So please.. get comfortable and let us take a look .. at

PHILLY FASHION WEEK 2009

so lets start with the highlights.

DSCF1556the space was awesome. Held at the 23rd st armory: every bit of space that you can think of was used appropriately and with what I felt was a reasonable sense of design.

once you walked in, you were greeted by a slew of pretty staff workers on a nice red carpet. You had an island in the middle of the space that offered a wide selection of exotic and interesting drinks. I preferred a type of strawberry vodka with tonic.. it was nice and smooth, and it served as a great way to meet new people.. 🙂

DSCF1462

As you walk through the venue, you notice that there are booths stationed along the sides occupied by resident stores and designers. I didn’t really take too much time to parlay with these folks, but I did manage to get a word in with the interesting ones..

STAY WITH ME HERE…

Now where traveling even further and after the large bar in the middle, you’ll see a diamond shaped runway, with chairs aligned each side and in the middle. To the right you’ll find an elevated section that’s dedicated to the so called, Very Important People of the evening. As I said b4, VIP means absolutely nothing to me. I abuse my VIP privileges to gain my friends access to those privileges.. lol.. but little did I know that my friends were as important to this event as I was.  🙂

But what I did make sure I did, was introduce everyone to a drink called the BEES KNEES … it was the rage of the evening for 2 days because of me.. I’m proud.. 😦 <- proud tear to my eye.. lol

Finally at the end of the venue, on top of everything; you’ll find the stage. This would be the platform that bands would use to reek harmonious havoc on the ears of everyone: VIP or Regular Partons alike… 🙂
THATS PRETTY MUCH WHAT YOU WALKED INTO FROM THE DOOR… now .. let’s check out the people 😉

DSCF1562DSCF1536DSCF1549DSCF1550DSCF1482
If there is anything philly is particular good for, it’s meeting interesting people. Sure NY is New York and everyone in the world migrates through there, but you tend to get desensitized by the volume of people that you come in contact with everyday. Philly on the other hand will put you and someone else that you would normally never cross paths with in your waking life, and you’ll turn out to become the best of friends. I’m not saying that I’m going to have life long from that I made at fashion week, but it’s a pretty damn strong possibility .. haha..

NEXT .. lets check out the runway.. I ventured off on the first day .. and ended up coming back to the space around 7:30 pm.. by that time I only had the pleasure of witnessing two shows, but they were cool non of the less. Here are scene from Delicious … 😉

DSCF1532DSCF1527DSCF1521DSCF1509DSCF1528That’s pretty much Delicious in a Nutshell … the show and models were great though. If I was the type to want to do it, I would have tried to be one of the models too… but that’s just not my style. I’d rather get my kicks being a super famous artist. 😛

Here’s some random coolness I captured..

DSCF1564DSCF1489This Channel 6 News Reporter was a FOX!!! GROWL!!

DSCF1563AT THE END OF THE SHOW, THE MODELS CAME OUT TO PLAY… and play they did .. 🙂

BEES KNEES ANYONE?!?! HEHE

Thats pretty much the first day… there are a ton of picture left for you to rummage through. So all you gotta do is click the jump and expand the post.

Yea I know, it’s been a while since I’ve been doing that.. I’ve been making it so easy by just just having all my posts just show up on the main page, but visualy… I want to keep my front page tidy. AND THERES TOO MANY DAMN PICS FOR THAT.. lol..

so check em out.. NOW!! .. go head.. get outta here..

LOOK AT THE DAMN PICTURES ALREADY!! ..

SHEESH.. ! :-\

2 Comments

  1. Interesting point of view. I really like reading you blog by the way. I don’t know quite what you do exactly, but whatever it is it looks like your damn good at it. Keep up the good work.

    Phena

Leave a comment